Governance that Results in Knowledge Management, Innovation & Productivity

Building and maintaining long-term relationships – based on mutual trust – is vital to our governance strategy. We believe that a solid foundation of individual business ethics, coupled with a collective knowledge of prudent nonprofit governance, contributes to our organization’s ability to effectively support CMC Vellore and to lead its global fundraising efforts. Our management team and Board of Directors are a reflection of uncompromising integrity. The primary focus of the Foundation is on sustainable partnerships through proper business fundamentals, uncompromising social responsibility, and a dedication to proper financial stewardship.

Structure and Talent that Enhance the Governance Process

The Foundation Board has adopted a set of nonprofit governance principles, complemented by a collection of action committees to guide its oversight and independent governance of the Foundation. Appropriate risk management, dedication to talent acquisition and succession planning, and a commitment to strong and sustainable governance practices are hallmarks of the Board’s stewardship on behalf of its key partner organizations and CMC itself.

Vellore CMC Foundation Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Margaret Kumar, R.N., PhD
CMC Alumni Assoc. of NA

Raj K. Narayan, MD
St. Francis Hospital

Binu Varughese
Assured Guaranty

James Taylor, MD
Scudder Association Foundation

Board Members

Niranjan Bose, PhD, Gates Ventures, Health & Life Sciences, WA
Rev. Dr. Benjamin Chan, American Baptist International Ministries, PA

Lydia Booher, PhD, Cleveland Clinic Akron General

Joseph Camardo, MD, ADC Therapeutics

Rev. Theodore Crass, United Methodist Church

Anindya Dutta, MD, PhD, University of Alabama at Birmingham

Madelon Finkel, PhD, Weill Cornell Medical College, Office of Global Health Education, NY
Jack Gillmar, Honolulu, Hawaii

Mark Ranjan Jesudason, MD, Christian Medical College, Vellore

Usha Jesudasan, Writer and Journalist

Hudson Kibuuka, Gen. Conference of Seventh Day Adventists, MD

Mrinalini Matcha, MD, University of South Florida, FL

Vikram Mathews, MD, Christian Medical College, India
Bibhuti Mishra, MD, LIJ Forest Hills at Northwell Health

Prasad Palla, Risk

Vinciya Pandian, PhD, MSN, RN, ACNP-BC, Johns Hopkins School of Nursing

Anita Raja, PhD, Hunter College, NY
Sarabdeep Singh, Moffitt Hospital, Tampa FL

Rev. JP Sundararajan, Reformed Church in America, MI

 Cephas Swamidoss, MD, Hospital for Special Surgery, NY
Susan Taylor, MD, Medical College of Wisconsin, WI

Christie Thomas, MD, University of Iowa, Internal Medicine & Nephrology, IA

Thomas Ponna Thurairatnam, MD, Scarborough Health Network, Canada

Alka Walter, University of Iowa Hospital, IA

Honorine Ward, MD, Tufts University

Julia Wattacheril, MD, MPH, Columbia University

Honorary Directors

Margaret Brand, MD (1919-2014)
Lucile S. Carman
Robert H. Carman, MD
Mani M. Mani, MD, CMC alumni ‘55
Rebekah Mani (1936-2020)
Anish Mathai
Edwina Scudder-Youth (1934-2021)

Individual Members of the Foundation

Varkey K. Abraham, MD (’55)
C.J. Alexander, PhD
Saramma Alexander, MD (’60)
Priya Alexander, MD (’88)
Bobby Cherayil, MD (’74) (’58-’59)
Susan Cherian, PhD (CON ’75)
Abraham Fenn Cheriyan, MD (’71)
Vasantha Caroline Daniel (CON)
Rev. Lisa Durkee
Meredith Hawkins, MD
Diane Jedlicka, PhD
Sajiv John
Albert Johnson, MD (’61)
Cyrus Kapadia, MD (’59-’60)
Shanta Kapadia, MD (’59-’60)
Emma Koshi, MD (’65)
Rev. B.B.C. Kumar
Dr. Sarosh Koshy, Ph.D.
Susan Mathew (CON ’69)
Thomas Mathew (AHS ’89)
Arjun Mohandas, MD (’86)
Renu Mohandas, MD (’86)
Aparna Muralidharan

Tina Narayan, MD (’73)
Philip Ninan, MD (’69)
Jim Oehrig (American Leprosy Missions)
John J. Paul, PhD
Thomas Philips, PhD
Catherine Poornaselvan, MSc (CON ’80)
John M. Quitmeyer
Siri Quitmeyer
Puthucode N. Rajamani
Lalitha Rambhala, MD
Rev. William Sadler
Susan Swanson
William Scudder
Rev. Elizabeth Senft
Meenakshi Singh
Jane P. Srinivasan, MD (’58-’59)
John Stevens, III
Mark W. Tibbetts, PhD
Robin Varghese, MD
Abraham Verghese, MD
Christine Wanke
Elise Youth, PhD

Institutional Members of the Foundation

American Baptist Int’l Ministries
Global Ministries of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ)
Grace-Trinity United Church of Christ
New Dover United Methodist Church
Presbyterian Church (USA)
Reformed Church in America
Seventh-Day Adventists Church
Scudder Association Foundation
Southern Baptist Convention
United Church of Christ
United Methodist Church
United Women in Faith